Technical report on critical concentrations for DST of medicines used in the treatment of drug-resistant TB

In 2017, the World Health Organization (WHO) Global TB Programme commissioned FIND to perform a systematic review of available minimum inhibitory concentration (MIC) data for phenotypically wildtype and non-wild type strains of TB, including associated sequencing data for relevant resistance genes. The medicines included in the review were the second-line injectable agents (kanamycin, amikacin and capreomycin); clofazimine and bedaquiline; cycloserine and terizidone; linezolid; delamanid; and the fluoroquinolones (ofloxacin, levofloxacin, gatifloxacin and moxifloxacin). The following media were considered: Löwenstein Jensen, Middlebrook 7H10/7H11 and BACTEC™ Mycobacterial Growth Indicator Tube™ 960.


Technical Expert Group review and meeting report

In April 2017, WHO Global TB programme convened a Technical Expert Group to review the evidence for different critical concentrations and clinical breakpoints used for DST for the various drug-media combinations. The revised or newly established breakpoints can be found on the WHO website. The supplemental files for this work, including the MIC data files for each drug, are found below.

Supplemental files

Reporting of additional MIC data and errors

If you identify any errors in the report, or if you have any additional MIC data to contribute to this review, particularly for antibiotics for which no critical concentrations could be defined, please contact us to facilitate the timely re-evaluation of the conclusions in this report.